I’ve had ten roommates!

Hi everyone!

So, the third week of school is over.  I just celebrated Chinese New Year with ISF.  I’m reading the full Ayodhyakanda of the Ramayana (or at least, making a good attempt.) And I’m also feeling a little guilty about not making any posts on this blog for about a whole month now.  I didn’t really have anything interesting to say. (But now I do.)

So, my last roommate gave me a sweatshirt that says “Cal State Long Beach ENGINEERING”  probably because she didn’t need five or however many she had (She had more than one.)

So I wore it, and then I was telling someone why I had a sweatshirt that said “ENGINEERING” on it.  Of course, I start by saying “My roommate…”

And even though not everyone knows who I’ve had for roommates, I feel kind of weird referring to all these different people by “my roommate”.  Because now I have to say “my old roommate” more often, and even I have to think for a moment about which one.

So, I was just thinking, how many roommates have I had? And then I started counting.  I’ve hit the double digits!  Primarily because while I lived abroad, I had more than one roommate per room, but still, I think this is kind of impressive.

In ten roommates, I’ve had eight friends, one not-friend-not-enemy, and one person-that-I-sincerely-hope-to-never-see-again.  I count myself lucky.

This is the first year that I’ve had a roommate the same age as me.  Until this year, I’ve always been the younger person.  I think having older roommates was good for me.  Due to their comparatively extensive experience and vastly different lives, I got to hear a lot of interesting stories and pick up advice–some sound, some only that.

I’ve met some other people who are living in homestays/renting rooms, and they don’t have roommates.  I’ve also met of people who live at home and people who don’t have siblings, and consequently, do not have roommates.  I feel sorry for them.  The social life scene peaks in college, and a roommate is an important part of that.  Having a compatible (good) roommate is like adding bay leaves to the homemade spaghetti sauce of your life–pleasantly seasoning, giving a well-rounded flavor. I think it’s also nice to have a friend who sees the worst part of you first–then, if they can live with that, you can seem like a really great person.

So, this is my  “Friendly Roommate Appreciate Post”.  Thanks for enriching my college life and me as a person.  And thanks for putting up with everything.  😀

 

Leave a Reply

