Old habits…

So, for about six months, I’ve been having a bit of a sleeping problem.  Reasons that I thought of were irregularity, stress, bad caffeine management, lack of exercise bad sleep hygiene, having a night-owl roommate, or a combination.  (Actually, for the record, I probably have a “B” in sleep hygiene.  Not too terrible.)

Since I’ve been on winter break, I have a semi-regular schedule.  I haven’t been particularly stressed out about anything. I haven’t had a caffeinated drink in about three weeks.  I take walks on the trail behind our house. The people in my house tend to go to bed before midnight.  And I still end up going to sleep between 1 and 2 AM.  So I was getting kind of worried.

Well, I went to the doctor today to talk about it, and it turns out that actually have a bad habit that is affecting my sleep.  I’ve had this habit since before I started wearing glasses–in fact, I blame this habit for my wearing glasses at all.  I’m pretty certain that’s my longest-running habit ever. (My father disagrees.)  Guess what it is?

I read in bed before I sleep.  Doesn’t everyone? I mean, it’s a nice way to round out the day, and it gives you ideas to use while dreaming.  My doctor, on the other hand, believes that reading stimulates the mind and isn’t a good pre-bed activity.

When she told me “Do not read in bed.  Bed is only for sleeping”, my inner mind was like, “What! You have got to be kidding.”  But all I said was “Oh really? Oh, I see.”

I am absolutely positive it’s going to take more than 21 days to break this habit.

**************************************************************************************************************

So, what about you? Do you have any bad habits that prevent you from sleeping? Write and tell me in the comments below! (Yeah, this is a vlogger move, but I thought I’d try it for kicks.)

Make sure to read the next installment, which will be whenever I have something interesting to say! (This is also a vlogger move.)

Leave a Reply

