The internet is like a toilet

As I probably mentioned to a lot of people, I was planning to spend the first two weeks of my winter break abstaining from the internet.  Completely.  Which meant that other people couldn’t do things for me either, because that’s still a form of internet dependency.  No email, facebook, youtube, blogging, researching, surfing, or google mapping. I haven’t even been home for a week and I have already failed my challenge.  Sob, sob. (plus one sob of relief.)

I’m a millennial.  Why would I do something as ludicrous as give up my internet when social media is the near equivalent to our lifeblood?  Precisely because I am a millennial. Through an informal poll of some close friends and some semi-close friends, internet is somewhat akin to blood flow–necessary to continue our life force.  And so in an act of rebellion, (which millennials are also prone to doing), I declared the internet to be off-limits for me for nineteen days. Theoretically, this puts me in the position controlling the cord, rather than allowing it to tether me to a computer.

Days one through four of my winter break were spent doing touristy things with a friend in San Francisco.  Due to the fact we kept getting lost, we used google maps. Due to the fact we wanted to find some information regarding one of our topics of conversation, we searched it.  So I thought I’d give it up after my friend went back to her home.

Sunday, day 1 without internet.  Fine.  Not much to say.

Monday, day 2 without internet.  I really want to find out how much it costs to send a package to Korea and compare carriers.  Oh well.  It’s going to have to wait.  I also want to find a recording of my string quartet piece.  That is going to have to wait, too. I forgot to send a Christmas card to my friend–I guess I can’t send her an email.  This is really beginning to bug me.

Tuesday, day 3 without internet.  Fail. I’m scheduled to babysit for someone next week, so, I guess I should have written down her phone number.  And since I’m “coerced” into checking email, I guess I’ll find out how much my package costs. And find a recording of the Hayden.  And send a Christmas greeting to my friend.

My dad said that I should think of the internet as a toilet–necessary for everyday living, but not something on which to spend more time than needed. I guess so.  To use it as an information database is good.  To use it as a means to be mindlessly entertained and connect to dozens of people with whom I may or may not have a real relationship is not necessary.  That would be like installing a toilet in every room in the house.  Doable, but certainly strange.

So as soon as I publish this post to social media and satisfy my craving for Taiwanese indie and foreign-language TV, I’ll keep that in mind.

After all, I’m a millennial.

Some of our design ideas are also strange.

;P

Leave a Reply

