Reflections on my gen eds 1

To mark the end of final exam week, I shall now commence to write some reflection on my first semester of classes at Cal State Long Beach.

For Comparative World Literature, we are writing a paper, and since writing is something I’m supposedly better at, then I want that skill to be reflected in the essay. This has caused me great agony, because I have to explain things that I find inherently obvious. And since I’m writing about fiction, really, anything goes, and you have to be picky about highlighting details that would normally be taken for granted…On that note, I have not enjoyed literature, because we have been reading books whose main discussion is on the nature of reality. It’s been really very dense, and sometimes hard to follow. Well, at least I can add to the list of things that I will not be pursuing.  That list of things has grown quite long this semester. I will not be pursuing to any degree further than absolutely necessary history or political science. They are both way too incredibly theoretical. And at the end of the day, I feel that nothing really got done–other than “the assignment was turned in promptly”–honestly, whether Lincoln issued the proclamation in 1862 or 1863 is not a question that keeps me awake at night (or in the middle of the afternoon). And while political science has some interesting, radical ideas, the process in which those ideas “come to life” is not one to which I want to devote my energy and mind-power. And we all know that I won’t be pursuing anything related to chemistry.

Now that the semester has dwindled to a finale, I can reflect on it. Part of me is tempted to say that it was horribly dull. But also, I’m thankful that I got to take these classes, for multiple reasons. First, I had good teachers all across the board. I’ve built solid relationships with three of them, and made connections more than once for two of them. Second, coming back from Taiwan, I kind of hated my major, because that was all I was doing. The general eds have changed my perspective on my “real life”–for lack of a better word. There are more, and the more I think about all the benefits of this semester, the more thankful I am that I had to do it.

“When you say yes to something good, you say no to something better.” But reversed, saying no to something good is yes to something better. I try to keep that in mind.

 

Leave a Reply

