Thanksgiving 2014

Care package from Mom and Dad
Care package from Mom and Dad
Inside the care package
Inside the care package
Yours truly and my friend, Jenny, from SF
Yours truly and my friend, Jenny, from SF
Hanging out in dorm: From left: Lean (Lancaster, CA), Jenny, and Amira, (about 45 mins--1h away from here)
Hanging out in dorm: From left: Lean (Lancaster, CA), Jenny, and Amira, (about 45 mins–1h away from here)

At this time last year I was in Taiwan, and it was cold, and I was taking Mandarin 4, and I had seven classmates, and I was working on my independent study for Dr. Ai, and my roommates were Rachel and Kristine, and I could eat bento anytime I wanted.

A year goes by very fast.

Now I am at Cal State Long Beach, and we just had the Thanksgiving break–:) It’s nice. The whole week though, I missed Taiwan.  Sometimes that emotion of “missing” is particularly strong–it comes like a somewhat unexpected “wave”–then I just want to scream, and not do any studying in these horribly dull gen ed subjects, and contact my Taiwanese friends, and forget where I am in time, and just enjoy all the good memories we’ve stored up….

And I kind of miss my Uncle Ken, who, last year, asked me “How has being in the different culture changed you?”, and he made me reflect on that for awhile. Now, whenever I want to think about something deep and profound, I always imagine him asking about it.

But, I did have fun with my northern California friends who stayed down here with me. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

